Posted on

The Title Problem

Later tonight will see the broadcast of our first movie review series. It’s something I’m very excited about because it will be with my oldest friend, Willie Grace. We’ve spent most of our lives talking about movies. Now we’re taking it to the next level.

Just one problem – Our title sucked.

I took video production in high school. The class produced a successful public access series called Sports Week. Nothing puts me to sleep faster than sports, so I didn’t work on it much. That is until a classmate and I developed a movie review segment. We called it 2 On 1 Movie Review. Sounds very dirty, but it summed up the show. Two film fans talking about a movie. It took us forever to come up with that!

Now, ten years later, I have the same problem. Up until now I referred to it as Movie Catch Up. Made sense. The concept is two movie buffs with different tastes talking about movies. Each week one of us suggests a movie for the other to watch and we talk about it. Yeah, but it’s bland. Not to mention it sounds like Rotten Tomatoes and  their Weekly Ketchup.

In homage to my roots, it is tentatively titled: 2 Non Critics. Not sure if it’ll stay that way, but it works for now. That’s what we are after all – two kids who grew up loving to talk about movies.

*I was partial to calling it Cineaste Infection. Don’t think that would fly though.

About orangeretroproductions

An experiment by a failed writer wishing to connect with his first passion: film and video. This is the space where he and his few collaborators can chase whimsy and share it with anyone with the time.

Leave a comment